Collaboration on a document

In the corporate version of Smartcat, several users assigned to the same or different workflow stages can work with one document at the same time.

This enables users to see the document and its translation, and exchange comments on the document or about specific segments.

The assignees can work in turn, or simultaneously. Their access to segments will depend on the type of assignment.

 

Collaboration of assignees at the same stage

When a large document needs to be processed fast, a manager can assign several translators to it. The manager can distribute the text into separate segment ranges, or give all assignees equal access to the entire document and make an arrangement outside the system delineating who translates which part.

If a manager has distributed the segments among the assignees, then every one of them will have access only to those segments to which the user has been assigned, while the rest will be blocked.

In the example below, a user has been assigned to translate a specific segment range. That user will be blocked from accessing any other segments.

If a manager has assigned a group of users without dividing the segments among them, the assignees will have equal access to all segments in a document. In such cases, the system prevents different users from editing the same segment simultaneously and interfering with each other's work. Once a user clicks on the Target field in a segment, other users are then blocked from accessing that segment, as well as the segments adjacent to it.

In the example below, two users have been assigned to translate the same document. One user has begun translating segment 3. If the other user tries to change this segment, he or she will not be able to do that, since the segment is blocked and marked by a padlock icon.

When the first user finishes translating the segment, it becomes available to other users, and the padlock icon disappears.

 

Collaboration of assignees at different stages

Managers may opt to include the editing and proofreading stages to the translation process, especially if the aim is to ensure a high quality translation (which is especially important for texts with complicated terminology, as well as for marketing materials or publications).

If this is the case, each segment in the document must pass through every stage. Until this is done, the project will not be completed.

In the column on the right, you can see the current stage of a segment. For example, Тranslation, Editing, etc.

 

As soon as the translator confirms a segment, it becomes available to the editor, even if the translator is still working with other segments. As soon as the editor confirms the segment, the translator is blocked from accessing it. In this way, each segment passes through all the stages included in a project.

If a segment is blocked, it is marked by a padlock sign.

Thus, users assigned to different tasks can work with a document simultaneously without disturbing each other.

 

Reverting a segment to the previous stage

If necessary, an editor can return a segment to the previous stage by selecting a segment and pressing .

The abbreviation denoting the stage will change to Т and a padlock sign will appear. This means that the segment has reverted to the translation stage and the editor is blocked from accessing it.

By the same token, a segment can be returned to the previous stage by a proofreader.