Deleting or overwriting a translation memory

How to delete a translation memory

If a translation memory is no longer needed, you may select it in the list and press the Delete button.

______________2020-04-20___15.39.46.png

Keep in mind that a translation memory cannot be deleted while it is being used for writing in any project. If such a TM has to be deleted, you may add another TM for writing in the project or delete the whole project. No matter whether you choose, the TM can be deleted after.

Please keep in mind that a deleted TM cannot be restored.

How to overwrite a translation memory

If you realize that your translation memory contains erroneous information, then you might need to overwrite the content with updated data. There are 2 options there - if you already have another approved version of the TM in an existing file, you can use that file. You can also download the TM in a TMX format and use a text editor to make corrections as needed.  When you overwrite a translation memory, the system removes all existing translation units from the TM and only after that imports the correct TMX, SDLTM, or XLSX file.

To overwrite a translation memory, select it in the list and press the Overwrite TM button.

mceclip0.png

Then click Add and select the file on your computer.

mceclip1.png

Click Import.

Smartcat will process the file and display messages to inform you along the process.

Like it?

0

Similar articles:

    No related articles