Advanced Glossary Settings

Glossaries are another important translation resource. You can create and keep separate glossaries for different subjects and clients, and add terms with translations into other languages into them. If a glossary is enabled on a project, whenever a glossary term is detected in the source text, the system will automatically offer the stored translations for that term.

Automatic Glossary Setup

If you specified a client or project group for the project, the system will automatically enable the relevant glossary from the ones that you have already created in Smartcat for this client or project group.

 

Manual Glossary Setup

You can change glossary settings on the Glossaries tab in the Advanced Settings.

 

Creating a Glossary

To create a glossary and enable it on a project, press the Create button.

The new glossary will appear in the New glossaries area. To change the settings of this glossary, hover the cursor over it and click the pencil icon.

You can change the name of the new glossary, add languages, and select a client and project group.

After configuring the glossary, click Save.

 

Enabling an Existing Glossary

To enable a glossary previously created in Smartcat on your project, press the Select button.

In the window that opens, you will see a list of glossaries matching the language pair of your project. You can filter the glossaries by client and project group.

After selecting the glossaries, click Add.

 

Disabling a Glossary

To disable a glossary being used on the project, hover the cursor over it and click the cross.

 

Setting Up Quality Assurance

Smartcat provides automated quality assurance. Translations are checked for various errors involving spelling, punctuation, terminology and consistency with the translation memory.

 

Automatic Quality Assurance Setup

By default, the system checks translation for all types of errors, and, if an error is detected, a warning is displayed. In some cases, if an error involves tags, the system will not allow you to confirm that the translation has been completed until the error is corrected.

 

Manual Quality Assurance Setup

You can change quality assurance settings on the Quality Assurance tab in the Advanced Settings.

If the system detects an error in the translation, by default it displays a warning. The option Notify me about errors is selected for most of the error types in the quality assurance settings.

If certain kinds of error warnings distract you, you can disable them by selecting the Ignore errors option.

And if you want to specify that a certain kind of error is critical, opt for Require error correction. When the kind of error specified is detected in the translation, the system will not allow the segment to be confirmed until it is corrected.

Was this article helpful?